Documenting Democracy
Australia's Story

| Concept development | Design and production | The project teams | Contributors | Consultant historians | Support |

Concept development

Dr Lenore Coltheart, Research Coordinator at the National Archives of Australia, curated the website, with specialist guidance from each archives and from the members of an advisory panel: Hon. John Bannon, Associate Professor David Black, Dr Mick Dodson, Dr Richard Ely, Dr Helen Irving, Professor Stuart Macintyre, Associate Professor Clive Moore, Dr Robert Nicol, Professor Alan Powell, Peter Quinton, Professor Kay Saunders, Dr John Williams, Professor Leslie Zines. See Significance for more information about the advisory panel members.

Design and production

The original website was designed and built by Stephen Hall of Stephen Hall Associates and Brendan O'Donnell of Art Direction Creative for the project partners. Art Direction Creative developed a new site design in 2005.

The project teams

This project was developed through a partnership of Australia's eight government archives, supported by the National Council for the Centenary of Federation.

The project involved the collaboration of thirty contributing institutions in Australia and the United Kingdom and a nationwide coordination of the eight project teams, the national advisory panel and some thirty consultants and contractors providing the specialist knowledge and technical skills required.

Commonwealth – National Archives of Australia project team

Lenore Coltheart (Project Manager and Curator)
Tikka Wilson (Production Manager)
David Swift (Archivist)
Jutta Hosel (Photographer)
Trish Stokes (Conservator)
Averil Haidar (Researcher)
Carolyn Kelly, Nolette de Souza, Yvonne Wise, Trish Carnevale, Kath McGrath (Transcripts)

ACT – Territory Records Office Australian Capital Territory project team

David Wardle (Archivist)
Amanda Harris (Archivist)
Lenore Coltheart (Historian)
Kate Bagnall (Project Manager)
Kath McGrath (Transcripts)

New South Wales – State Records New South Wales project team

Gail Davis (Archivist)
Dr Helen Irving (Historian)
Catherine Freyne (Researcher)

Northern Territory – Northern Territory Archives Service project team

Cathy Flint (Archivist)
Emeritus Professor Alan Powell (Historian)
Craig Lush, Jill Parker, Cheryl Phillips (Transcripts)
Andrew Pitt (Images for photo album)
Cathy Chandler (Design)
Nearline Imaging Solutions (Photo scans)

Queensland – Queensland State Archives project team

Nola Fulwood (Archivist)
Associate Professor Clive Moore (Historian)
Warwick Peberdy, Department of Communication and Information, Local Government and Planning

South Australia – State Records of South Australia project team

June Edwards (Archivist)
Judy Jeffery (Archivist)
Hon. John Bannon (Historian)

Tasmania – Archives Office of Tasmania

Jill Waters (Archivist)
Dr Richard Ely (Historian)

Victoria – Public Record Office Victoria project team

Bronwyn Fensham (Public Programs Manager)
Catherine Kesik (Public Programs Officer)
Professor Stuart Macintyre (Historian)
Paul Jones (Researcher)
Nicole Strang and Louisa Scott (Transcripts)

Western Australia – State Records Office of Western Australia project team

Damien Hassan (Archivist)
Lise Summers (Archivist)
Associate Professor David Black (Historian)


United Kingdom

David Prior, House of Lords Record Office
John Freeman, Photography London
Sara Joynes, Researcher
Paul Johnson, Manager, Image Library, National Archives of the United Kingdom


BICA ProLab Canberra
Elizabeth Beckmann, evaluation consultant
Peter Mason, Director, Table Office, House of Representatives, Australian Parliament
Caroline Rodgers, Senior Registrar, High Court of Australia
Brian Slee, Treaty Secretariat, Commonwealth Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade
Dr Russell Taylor, Australian Institute of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Studies
Graeme Powell and Paula Waring, Manuscripts Section, National Library of Australia
The staff of the National Council for the Centenary of Federation Secretariat
Tim Sherratt, Howard Morphy, Nigel Lendon and Janien Shwarz for specialist advice

Australian Capital Territory

Tracy Bradford, Department of Lands, New South Wales

New South Wales

Peter Chadwick and Stephen Barlow, Land Titles Office New South Wales
Scott Wogan, Image Library, State Library of New South Wales

Northern Territory

Legislative Assembly of the Northern Territory
Northern Territory Attorney-General's Department
Northern Territory Library
Nearline Imaging Solutions Darwin


State Library of Queensland
Parliament of Queensland
Dr Glyn Davis, Director-General, Department of the Premier and Cabinet

South Australia

Parliament of South Australia
Art Gallery of South Australia
History Trust of South Australia
Mortlock Library of South Australiana
Ara Irititja Archival Project


Supreme Court of Tasmania
State Library of Tasmania
Tasmanian Museum and Art Gallery
Queen Victoria Museum and Art Gallery


Anne Sargent and Felicity Ryan, Papers Office, Legislative Council of the Parliament of Victoria
Peter Burns, Deputy Registrar of Titles, Victoria
Bruce Davidson, Parliamentary Librarian, and Beverly Skinner
Jock Murphy and Dianne Reilly, State Library of Victoria
Peter Mappin, Museum Victoria
The Image Box, South Melbourne
BICA Prolab, Canberra

Western Australia

Supreme Court of Western Australia
Constitutional Centre of Western Australia
Art Gallery of Western Australia

Consultant historians

Commonwealth documents

Dr Lenore Coltheart
Dr Elizabeth Kwan (Flags Act 1954)
Associate Professor Clive Moore (Pacific Islanders Act)

Australian Capital Territory

Dr Lenore Coltheart

New South Wales documents

Dr Helen Irving

Northern Territory documents

Professor Alan Powell

Queensland documents

Associate Professor Clive Moore

South Australia documents

Hon. John Bannon

Tasmania documents

Dr Richard Ely

Victoria documents

Professor Stuart Macintyre

Western Australia documents

Associate Professor David Black


This website was originally developed with the support of Australia's National Council for the Centenary of Federation.

Centenary of Federation